Eating Well-Starting from Breakfast

Happy new year everyone! 2017, a new year, and a new me! As someone who loves writing, sharing, and experiencing, I have finally made my first blog and would appreciate any support. Being a passionate foodie, I thought it’s only right that I dedicate my first-ever┬áblog to food, namely my favourite meal of the day, at one of the best finds in 2016.

I have always been a firm believer in eating well, starting from breakfast. Nothing beats a full belly that will fuel you for the whole day, filled with vitality, energy, and sometimes, sparks of inspiration. Having come from a Chinese background, the elders have always had a saying that one should “Eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince and dinner like a beggar”. I cannot say that I will every agree with the last part, but I am an advocate for making every breakfast count for sure.

As someone who can be hard to please (Although I do not specifically look for impeccable presentation, my happiness does get doubled when I get to eat something that feeds the eye/camera, and the belly), I was pleasantly surprised with the I-thought-was-too-hyped-up “Green Eggs Benny” at Major Sprout Eatery. Stepping into the bustling eatery, the first thought that came to my mind was “WOW, this place looks beautiful and VERY VERY INSTAGRAMMABLE”. The snapshot that I took had all the key ingredients to an amazing photo (the cactus, the magazine, etc.) without me even trying. I started my morning with a beetroot latte! What a delightful marriage of the sweet beetroot and my favourite type of coffee. It was comfort coffee for sure, and the PINK colour made me feel like a princess sipping her drink in a castle. The highlight of the visit was, however, the food. Eggs Benedict has become a staple breakfast/brunch item when I go out, and it is no exception at Major Sprout.

I was delighted to see one of my all time favourites-Spinach (yes! the symbol of power and energy) being crowned and redefined here. The green hollandaise sauce was interesting regarding both the look and the flavour. Spinach is one of those simple vegetables where many things could go wrong when you try to cook it. Two perfectly poached eggs balanced the subtle acidic taste (oh how I loved the runny yolk! the team at MS killed it)! The potato rosti was also pan-fried to a crispy golden brown and crunched with every bite. What would make this dish sing to me would be substituting raw smoked salmon for the cooked one. The later was nicely seasoned but crumbled onto my plate as I attempted to cut through my EB. Nevertheless, another point that would be music to many glutton’s ears would be that the portion is deceptively huge. The dish didn’t look massive for sure, but after finishing the half, I regretted not getting their “half EB” option on the menu!

I had no room for dessert and left feeling very satisfied, although that didn’t stop me from planning my next trip to Major Sprout.

Leave a Reply

